Professor Péter Balázs receives "Dr. Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award"

February 25, 2016

"In the recognition of your integrity and valor as Foreign Minister, encouraging respect for humanities values and rule of law and fighting discrimination". 

Given his distinguished career, we are honored to announce that CENS’s director and CEU’s Professor Péter Balázs was awarded the Dr. Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award by Tufts University.

The Institute for Global Leadership established the Dr. Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award in 1993 to honor the work and life of Dr. Jean Mayer, President and Chancellor of Tufts University from 1976-93, and it is given annually to individuals and organizations dedicated to solving the most pressing problem facing the world.

The first recipient of the award in 1993 was Amartya Sen and other recipients have included Martti Ahtisaari, Romeo Dallaire, Francis Deng, Bill Drayton, Shirin Ebadi, Paul Farmer, John Kenneth Galbraith, Ashraf Ghani, Kishore Mahbubani, James Nachtwey, Sunita Narain, Gen. William Nash, Joseph Nye, Mary Robinson, Cornelio Sommaruga, Wole Soyinka, Desmond Tutu, and Sir Brian Urquhart.

Professor Balázs also participated in the 31st Annual Norris and Margery Bendetson EPIIC International Symposium on “Europe in Turmoil” which was held at Tufts University from 17-21 February 2016. The 2016 EPIIC international symposium held discussions on issues critical to understanding the future of Europe, especially as it faces its current crises. Topics included Europe’s identity, its relationship with Russia, the future of NATO and the transatlantic partnership, the challenges of the current migration crisis, integration and the roles of religion and ethnicity, questions of political and economic integration, terrorism, collective memory, and the philosophical and humanistic underpinnings of the European Project.

Professor Balázs presented at the major opening on “The Future of Europe” and as part of the panel on “‘The Big Three’ and Challenges to Foreign Policy Integration” on 21 February 2016.