## **David Usupashvili**

## Chairman of the Parliament of Georgia

David Usupashvili was elected as Chairman of the Parliament of Georgia on October 21, 2012. He has been Chairman of the Republican Party of Georgia (ALDE and LI member party) since 2005 and Deputy Chairman of the Political Coalition "Georgian Dream" since October 2011.



David Usupashvili was born in Signagi, Georgia, on March 5, 1968. He graduated from Magaro Secondary School and continued education at IvaneJavakhishvili Tbilisi State University, where he obtained Diploma of Honours in Law (1985 - 1992). He received Master's Degree in International Development Policy from Duke University, Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, USA (1997 - 1999).

From 1999 to 2005 he worked for an USAID funded Rule of Law program, as Deputy Chief of Party and Senior Legal and Policy Advisor.

During 2000 – 2001, David Usupashvili worked as an Executive Secretary for Anti-Corruption Working Group under President of Georgia.

David Usupashvili was a founder of one of the first Georgian NGOs, Georgian Young Lawyers Associationthat promoted and largely contributed to democratization processes in Georgia. As a first Chairman he coordinated implementation of major rule of law programs (1994 - 1997).

From 1992 to 1994 he worked for the President of Georgia as Senior Legal Adviser and Special Envoy of the President to Parliament and Constitutional Commission of Georgia.

From 1989 to 1995 he served at the Central Election Commission of Georgia, as Chief Legal Consultant, Head of Legal Department and Member.

David Usupashvili was a member of various boards of the leading Georgian NGOs such as GYLA, OSGF, TI, ISFED, ect. Since 2004 he is a Senior International Constitutional Law Consultant of the UNDP and EU.

David Usupashvili was also involved in pedagogical activities, he was lecturer of law at Tbilisi State University, Department of Humanitarian Studies (1992 – 1996) and at the Legal Training and Information Centre within the framework of GYLA Education Program (1999 - 2011).